Snow Day at the Office

The great thing about a Snow Day at the Office, is that it’s kind of like working at home. Maybe because about %60 of the employees actually are working at home, the rest of us can’t help settling in a little more than usual… even for a pretty darn casual northwest tech firm. No skirt and heels for me today—layers of sweaters, sweats under patchy-hippy jeans, and a soft woolly beanie. My snow-covered boots are off and Dino, Frank, and Bette are rockin’ their Christmas tunes outside the headphones. Add a big mug of ghetto mocha (dry cocoa mix stirred into office coffee), and I’m set.

On an office snow day, the few intrepid desk-dwellers drop by for my department’s second-best now-view in the company: 16th floor, ceiling-high windows facing southeast over downtown, the tide flats, and Pac Ave sloping up the hill. Despite the occasional visitors, snow days have fewer distractions than most days, and it keeps surprising me how much I’ve gotten done each hour.

My favorite giant mug and the best typing gloves ever. (The mug is from a stint with Cafe!)

My favorite giant mug and the best typing gloves ever. (The mug is from a stint with Cafe!)

Hmm. I may be getting too comfy. Just shuffled into the communal ladies room in my socks. Ew.

Leave a Reply

