Taxing Times

Eight months into newly married life, and here we are with another exciting first: Our First Joint Tax Filing! Awww. So romantic. And such fun!

Actually, this humble little pebble in our list of milestones is a collection of firsts.

First the first

It’s the first year since I started working for which I only have two income source forms to include. Last year, there were three. Before that, I have had at least five sources of income for the last seven years. That I only have two this time around means a few different things to me, depending on how I feel at the moment:

  1. Hooray! I’m approaching adulthood at last! I have a career, not a string of three or four part-time internships, restaurant, coffee, and cocktail jobs!
  2. Hooray! The best of all worlds! I have a career and I’m being paid to act every now and again!
  3. Wow. Two income sources on record are clear reminders that I have not done any freelancing this year.
  4. Hm. Actually, I haven’t done any freelancing, and I didn’t really get out to many auditions this year…
  5. Hooray! I still have a job!

First the second

It’s definitely the first time that my taxes have seemed so easy. Sure, I’ve had multiple forms and income sources (see First the first, above), but I’ve always been able to use the 1040-EZ form. Heck, I’ve just taken an hour or so to file online and receive an almost instant notification of my return for the last 3 years. But the husband? Whoof.

Actors are—obviously, with the exception of those repertory—self-employed and independent contractors with multiple parties. The more parties the better! So there are several forms to deal with already. Add in his school-district income (emergency subbing is highly underrated as a decent stop-gap job); the business expenses for travel, research, etc; the stock and dividend stuff; and a few other mysterious slips of paper from his deceptively teensy and immaculately organized accordion files, and … well, we needed the long 1040 (definitely not easy or EZ), the A and C form, and then I had to go back and get the D form too. If there’s a Q-form, we may end up with that too. Does the taxman alphabet extend that far?

First the third

It’s the husband’s first time preparing his own taxes… at least in a long time. I have done my own for a few years, but he usually he sends his box of forms and receipts off to his family’s tax guy in Idaho (See First the second).

We thought about it, but seeing as it’s already so late, and we wanted to save the money, and why the heck shouldn’t we be able to figure it out? So, here we go!

2 thoughts on “Taxing Times

  1. I have a FAB tax guy in Seattle who we’ve worked with for years, and he also works with my Dad and his company. Let me know if you want his info. He’s awesome and does his best to make sure we get money back every year! 🙂

    • Although the husband hates this term, we set a “go/no-go” deadline of Sunday. If we’re struggling through his mysterious boxes, forms, and receipts, we jsut may give him a call! Maybe you could email me the info… just in case? 🙂 Thanks, lovely! emilierommel@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

