It’s a wrap! Almost.

We finished filming the bulk of the film on Monday. That is, we finished all the scenes that take place in the rental house out on Vashon Island.

It was a lot like some kind of fun creative camp for grownups, filming out there. 6 to 14 people sleeping on mattresses, beds, sleeping bags, couches… working late, communal meals, reminders to hydrate, not enough sleep, lots of waiting… lots of dress up.

Em & Mellow Phillip in our last scene costumes... with a little accessories exchange. Please note that I am standing on a kitchen chair. In 3 inch vinyl heels. And I am Just Barely Taller than my opposite.

Em & Mellow Phillip in our last scene costumes... with a little accessories exchange. Please note that I am standing on a kitchen chair. In 3 inch vinyl heels. And I am Just Barely Taller than my opposite.

It’s also where all of learning has happened so far. This being my first film, I am absolutely positive that whatever I was doing the first day of filming 5 weeks ago must be acres –leagues!– away from where I ended up.

On the other hand, with the way my character is written, I really was coming from a much different place than where I ended, in terms of the story. Comatose to timid to curious, playful to petulant to forceful, suspicious to aggressive,  irrational to –as I believe I’ve said before — pretty much flat-out crazy.

Hmmm. No way to know till it’s all cut up and stitched back together, I guess… months and months from now. Which is a little nerve wracking, I don’t mind telling you.

From here on out, there are a few days left shooting in Seattle, and then, then it will be all over.

The new location marks a whole new storyline for me… so while I’m a bit nostalgic for Camp Vashon already, I’m really looking  to exploring what happens next. New scene partners, a completely new wardrobe, and a chance to try on what amounts to a whole new character.  Fun fun fun!

Leave a Reply

