Why I write… for a living

I get to make stuff up.

All day. Truly, I don’t think people realize what a sweet gig this is.  See, people tell me the sort of things they want to hear and read, and I get to pull words out of thin air, string together some phrases that match the flavor they’re hankerin’ after, and add whatever I think will make a good side.

And because I made it up, I don’t have to set a place for the ego.

“Wow, that’s great, Emilie! That’s actually what I meant to say. Where’d you find that information?” Thanks! I just made it up.

“Ok, this part doesn’t work for me. It’s not what I was looking for. And actually, Emilie, this part just isn’t true.” So we change it. I just made it up.

Pretty nice way to spend the day, really.

Leave a Reply

