Baby Steps: Small Victories!

Last Saturday, after a day of dancing hard at rehearsal, I braved the torrential freeways to Auburn for an afternoon and late-into-the-evening with SisterMeghanne and BabyDaniel. We watched a very sad movie, she taught me to make easy Chile Verde, and we just generally got some gooood SisterTime.

It’s good to be catching up on that.

Daniel-Nov09

Say hello, BabyD!

And guess what?

I changed TWO diapers! That makes, I think four total… ever.

I’m the youngest, you know? And though I did my share of babysitting for the neighborhood younguns, it was always for the three-and-up crew. This is all new territory, here.

Even better? What made me feel soooo accomplished, like I really pulled off something specatacular? BabyD was wailing away, tired, cranky, hiccupping and inconsolable… and I got him to stop crying! Bouncing, sing-songing his name, and blowing cool air on his sweaty, chubby little neck… it all worked! And it lulled him to sleep for the evening!

Man, that felt good. Like I did something very important that mattered very much… and for a grumpy little man for whom very little matters.

Tough crowd. As you see below… clearly the little victories are short-lived and must be enjoyed quickly and thoroughly!

DanielEmSerg-Nov09

Auntie Em, Baby D (the howling one), and Boppa Sergio. Oh, BabyD loooooves, his Auntie!

Leave a Reply

