Year of Gratitude #3

Note: Older post lost in the shuffle... re-posted here.

Today I am grateful for:

1) Short phone calls just to say hi.
Actually, this happened to the husband last night, not me… but I was still grateful. Grateful to his friend in Cali for making 10 minutes to say “hiya.” Grateful for the brief but important mutual encouragement in artistic endeavors and, yes, even grateful for the smattering of geeky gaming talk. It all kind of made the husband’s night.

If I did make a New Year’s resolution, I think this would be it: To stop fretting about the time and energy necessary to catch up with people after way too long in between. To Just Call.

2) Gluten-Free Oatmeal!
Seriously. I may have mentioned this before, but I’m so excited to have oatmeal back in my life! A hot bowl of oatmeal with milk and raisins used to be a standard breakfast item growing up –sadly we had no idea it’s part of what made me sick all the time.

Since I made the GF switch, oats have been verboten for 4 years, along with wheat, rye, and barley. But the times, they have a-changed! Bob’s Red Mill is one of a few companies I’ve seen that have switched over to dedicated oat fields, hereby removing the cross-contamination with other gluten-laden growables. Hooray! Hot breakfast bowl, here I come!

3) Unexpected / Forgotten money.
Wow! Cash in hand for a band gig we played in November… sweet! Not much, but it all counts, eh? Half went straight into The Travel Whale, the other half adds to grocery fund.

Leave a Reply

