Year of Gratitude #11

Today I am grateful for:

1) The sleep I do get.
As stated often in the last few posts, I’m having a lot of trouble sleeping. But I sure don’t have capital “I” Insomnia. Now that’s rough stuff.

A couple of co-workers sometimes regale me with Tales of The Wide-Awake Curse. Ambien + Benadryl, sound machines, late night walks, exercise, hot baths, reading, painting, doing math even… all to wake up fully alert 20 minutes later. “I’m going on 3 hours of sleep for the last 3 days.” Ooof.

I guess 4 or 5 hours a night isn’t so bad. Heck, just call me Sleeping Beauty.

2) Double-duty accessories.
Like a belt that can also be a headband (guess what I’m wearing today). I’m realizing this is an important part of my emerging fashion philosophy: Unless a thing is so uniquely fabulous to make a statement, all on it’s own, every time I put it on–and I do have a couple items that hit this— my clothes just have to earn their keep. I don’t have the funds, closet-space, or patience for one-trick ponies.

Ok, I know, this may seem frivolous to waste a YOG on… but it’s true! I am grateful!
So there!

Annnd… last, but certainly not least….

3) HawaiiMom… Happy Birthday (a day late)!
Getting married and becoming part of “someone else’s family” takes a bit of adjustment, and so many people seem to have issues with “the in-laws.” …not in this corner! I am so happy to be a part of the husband’s family!

Of course I’m grateful for all the work that went into the man I love… but going forward, as life does, I am also particularly grateful for a whole mess of other things that mean a lot to me, personally: Long phone chats, short mailed notes, encouragement with work and other weighty issues, book recommendations, a fun shopping buddy–when possible!–in Hawaii and on visits here on the mainland, craft and recipe ideas, a level head, and a wonderful sense of humor. Thank you thank you thank you!

One thought on “Year of Gratitude #11

  1. You’re welcome, you’re welcome, you’re welcome! And the same back at ya :). We’re happy and blessed with our daughter-in-law too–heaps. Love you, HawaiiMom

Leave a Reply

