The 27th Year: A thorough review & analysis

Hooray! It’s my birthday today! I got all dressed up for work (even broke out a silk pleated dress and pretty rosette heels), went to a birthday lunch with our drummer (his birthday is tomorrow), ate yummy exotic chocolate from TheBosslady, and am saving the husband’s GF cupcake for later. In awhile, I’m heading out for a mid-week drink with friends, and of course the real celebration will be this weekend in Vegas. Ahhh. Such a lucky life.

In keeping with last year’s assessment… here’s my run-down of the 27th year.

Again, this assessment is actually a “year-end” questionnaire that’s supposed to be completed at… well, at the end of the year. But, since since my birthday is so close to the beginning of the new year, I’ve decided to complete this questionnaire in terms of age, not calendar year.

And yes, again, is long. Don’t worry, I’ll never know if you decide to skip it.

Onward!

1. What did you do at 27 that you’d never done before?
* Played the lead in a full-length feature film.
* Held a 1-hour old baby.
* Wore underwear on stage.
* Cooked a turkey dinner.
* Went snowshoeing!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Same as last year, in that “Honestly, I don’t remember my resolutions, but I think I might have made them… a better marker for me is what I gave up/promised for Lent.”

This year I tried to give up “fear of the unknown.”  That is, fear about circumstances I can’t change. I tried. I succeeded sometimes and failed miserably at other points. I may keep this one on the list.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My sister! Daniel Lucas Julian was born in August!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No.

5. What countries did you visit?
None. But we started a plan to GET to another country. I think that almost counts.

6. What would you like to have at 28 that you lacked at 27?
* An organized, functioning spare room (space to write and host guests).
* A more clear idea of my Dad’s medical and day-to-day future.
* A joint checking account. (Still on the list from last year… we are SO slow moving!)

7. What date(s) from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Hmm… right now I can’t think of specific dates, but there were some wonderful weeks. The month leading up to BabyD ‘s birth, time at the cabin on Vashon for filming, Hawaii visit for TheYoungestEmily’s HS Graduation… all good things.

8. What were your biggest achievements at 27?
1) Playing Stella in A Streetcar Named Desire.
2) Publishing a piece in a poetry anthology.
3) Working my patootie off to get a decent collection of poetry together. Of course, it’d be better if when I can get it published, but I’m pretty pleased just for having done the work.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Mess-ups at work. Not total failures, but mistakes that were due to my own failings of tardiness and inattention.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Ugch. A cold from early December to …now.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A painting for the husband, created by a good friend.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
All the lovely actors and musicians I got to work with this year.
You’re all so generous and fun to play with.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
No comment.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Hmm. Bills. Groceries. Boring stuff. However, I think that means all the really fun stuff was either an awesome bargain or so worth it that I’ve conveniently forgotten any financial strain incurred.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
See # 8 (except the underwear). Also SisterMaria’s wedding and going to Vegas for my 28th birthday!

16. What song(s) will always remind you of being 27?
“Meet Me Under the Mistletoe” — a cute little song the husband and I danced to in the Christmas 09 show.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Happier. Last year I said the same… hooray! That means life is getting better and better, right? Right? Ok fine… am I stressed and tired and frustrated and worried about a lot of stuff? Yes. But I am also hopeful, and I have too many things to be happy about than to answer this any other way.
b) thinner or fatter?
Mostly the same… until the Holidays hit. Ooof. Definitely a touch fatter.
c) richer or poorer?
Poorer–6 months working one day less a week strained the savings account.
Although, I guess there is slightly more in my 401K, so perhaps I can say I’m a smidgen future-richer, although I can’t touch it for a long while yet.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Wow. Exactly the same as last year:
Writing, dancing, learning to cook, going to see shows, following through with friends, saving money.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Annnd, exactly the same here. Man, I’ve got the consistency thing down.
Worrying, sitting in hospitals, spending money on unnecessaries.

20. How did you spend Christmas at 27?
Christmas Eve: Dinner-for-two with the husband, champagne and snacks with good friends, then candlelight service.
Christmas Day: Mom was sick sick sick so we canceled breakfast, slept till noon, spent a romantic afternoon cuddling on the couch, then went to Grams’ for a nice big ol’ family party.

21. Did you fall in love at 27?
Yes, and in many different ways. It keeps surprising me.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
TV? That works? Huh… well, the rest of Battlestar Galactica, Eureka, and So You Think You Can Dance, when the rabbit ears complied. Yes, really.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No.

24. What was the best book you read?
Ooooh, so many good books this year! And time to read them! So here’s the top four:
* The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
* The Electric Michelangelo by Sarah Hall
* The Dante Club by Matthew Pearl
* Illumination Night by Alice Hoffman

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Two extremes: Jonathon Coulton and the Boswell sisters.

26. What did you want and get?
* Published poetry! (From last years list)
* Flat black walking boots! (ditto)
* More time with SisterMeghanne.

27. What did you want and not get?
* Lots of things, I’m sure, but nothing comes to mind. How nice. I must be in a good mood today.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Hmmm. I really enjoyed Happy Go Lucky. And Coco Avant Chanel.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
For my 27th birthday, went to see the husband in A Man of No Importance with my favorite cousins. The following weekend, lots of friends came to the band’s gig, and there was gluten-free cake, a crown, and a sash even.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A scooter. Still dreaming.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept at 26?
Two-part answer:
1) Figuring out how go from waist-length hair to a bob… I was surprised at how the change in hairstyles changed the look of outfits. Something that was beachy and chill with long hair became a soccer mom uniform with the bob. On the opposite side, something “nice for work”all of a sdden became formal and severe.
2) Which leads us, once again to: Experimentation.

32. What kept you sane?
* Hot Tea + Soft Blanket + Notebook + Good Books. All of that wrapped into sleep-in Saturdays.

To be honest, there are more, but I’ve been filling this out for a week, bit by bit, and I’m done.
Besides, you’re all tired of reading it now too, I bet. So, I’ll just sum it up now.

Twenty-seven was a busy, tiring, loving, stretching, uncertain year.
I cried buckets over things I can’t change and which scare me.
Those things will still be there next year.

I was “re-twitterpated” about the man I love,
and I am so thankful everyday to be with someone who makes
me laugh till I hurt and who is happy to work hard at Us.
That man will still be there next year.

I worked hard to earn new chances to stretch my creative side.
God willing, there will be more chances next year.

I strengthened friendships with wonderful people and with my family.
They will be there for as long as they can and as long as I let them.

I prayed and pleaded and praised God more than any other year.
He will always be with me.

What more can a girl ask for? More of the same.

Leave a Reply

