Housekeeping: Maternity Leave

Ha ha! Housekeeping? Ah hahahaha!

Here I sit at the computer on a very rare and very short free moment, surrounded by piles and stacks of unopened mail and laundry drifting through the living room like so many giant October leaves, all of it liberally dotted with the ubiquitous cloth diapers delivered unto this house by the nice man in the truck who takes the stink away every week, and I dare invoke the word housekeeping? Hee hee hee!

Oh that word makes me laugh right now… and yes, with perhaps too bright a gleam in my eye.

But.

Since we all know I can’t possibly be talking about real housekeeping, what with my questionable history of home cleanliness and a brand new mess-machine in the house (known to many as “A Baby”), you would likely assume I simply mean “business concerning this here blog to which I must readily attend.” And you would be right.

The silly thing about this post is that I’ve already used a up a great many words and haven’t even gotten to the part where I tell you all that I won’t be posting much for the next month or so. There it was.

I’m giving myself a maternity leave. I’ve already been having one, really, but thought I might as well make it all official-like. In print. Or pixels, as the case may be.

I’ll do my best to get at least something up every week, but I can’t vouch for the regularity or the in-depth details of each post.  Between learning how to tend and nurture a VerySmallPerson and learning how to edit my “personal” activities to eating, sleeping, and using the ladies’ only when absolutely necessary… well, it’s a tall order at the moment.

I have every intention of returning to the Internets full force (er… perhaps we ought to just say “more often”) in late November.

In the meantime, I also promise to post some pictures of the little bird… as soon as I have a minute or two to take some!

Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

